Many things that used to be done in the home by hands are now being done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

With the advancement of technology, nowadays many things that used to be hand-made are now being done by machines. This essay will suggest that time efficiency and consistency of quality are the biggest advantages of this topic, whereas the potential of unemployment and high maintenance cost are the primary disadvantages. To commence, I will discuss the advantages of using machines for production. Firstly, by using machines, the production of products will be completed faster due to the speed of machines, which is certainly different from hand-made. For instance, the production of a scarf will likely be done in less than 2 days, while it might take longer for hand-made production. Secondly, the quality of products by machines consistently remained stable, whereas for hand-made things had the probability of declining quality due to human error. Meanwhile, the production by machines also has disadvantages for both the loss of employment and the high maintenance cost. By using machines, it will lead to a massive layoff for the workers that work in the industry. As a result, many people with excellent craft skills will be replaced by machines and they won't have an income for their lives. Furthermore, the maintenance of machines is quite expensive and will cost most of the expenses of the company. It is also not guaranteed that the revenue of the product will cover the cost expenses. In conclusion, production by machines can offer significant advantages for the product. However, they must be aware of the potential high cost that might not be covered by the massive production.