Some children spend time on their smartphones. Why this is? is it a positive or nagative development?

Some children spend hours on their smartphones every day. This is the case because children find smartphones very addictive. I personally believe that it is a negative development because it consumes their valuable time. Every day children spend hours on their phones because they are addictive. Children find smartphones engaging and they cannot resist scrolling. Smartphones provide them with an access to the Internet which allows them to watch countless content on social media, play games, browse websites and many more. Therefore, they spend a significant amount of time every day on smartphones because they find them funny and entertaining. For example, children in India spend hour after hour on their phones watching reels because they find them funny. I personally believe that spending hours on smartphones is a negative development because it consumes a lot of valuable time. Children can utilize that time in some productive work. They can play, study, and spend time with their families. If smartphones consume a significant amount of their valuable time, they have a very little amount of time to complete their daily tasks. As a result, it affects their everyday performance at school and home. For example, in the USA, children spend around 5 to 6 hours on their smartphones and it affects their academic performance at school. In conclusion, children find the content of the Internet addictive and therefore, they cannot stop scrolling. I personally believe that it is a positive development because it affects their performance at school and home.