There are those who believe, multiple choice tests are preferable to essay-based tests. Others are of the opinion that essay type tests are more advantages.

There are dabates about two types of testing the subjects, which are choosing the answers among 2 to 5 questions and letting the students to write what they know about the questions. Some believe that the type of multipe choice can encourage students to study about one formalized subject steadily. However, others argue that students can show their capability well when they write what comes up in their mind. This essay will explore both viewpoints before a conclusion is derived. On the one hand, a formalized type of test could be fair to evaluate students ' workings. Because a possibility that some students may be scored inaccurately exits nowadays. For example, if the question has the answers more than one aspect, it may confuse learners, leading them not to afford the score of themselves. Consequently, since it has a well accepted assessment from only one perspective, this method can embrace various types of students fairly. On the other hand, examining people with an essay type helps activating academic insights. In other words, learners have a chance to write down not only what they have learned about but also what they have thought over the restricted sight. For example, there are lots of procedures to solve a math problem according to which methods are used. Besides, it can also test the students' writing skills and how many vocabularies they know about their major. It would be another criteria of assessing practical ability to write academic paper and use knowledge in reality. In conclusion, although multiple-choice test is less controversial due to their stability of evaluating, I support that educators have to make the exams by an essay type. Because the informalization of essay writing exam would be able to foster further studies of learners in detail.