Do you believe that experimentation on animals for scientific purposes is justified? Are there any alternatives to animal experimentation?

Animal experimentation has been a relevant issue in our society. As it infringes the rights of several animals, animal rights groups have been campaigning on ceasing the use of animals for experimentation. This cruel practice has no justification, and it should be stopped. Animals have been used in many industries, especially the medical and cosmetic industries, to test their products for human use. Although the intentions of these experiments are for the benefit of humans, creatures such as mice have been exploited and tortured with chemicals and procedures. Furthermore, these activities often lead to irreversible injuries and/or deaths to these animals. Moreover, many animals are grown for the sole purpose of experimentation. An example of this is when mice are grown to test new medicines for pharmaceutical companies. These activities violate various ethical principles and disregard the rights of animals. However, many companies opt to use animals because they are convenient and cost efficient. Moreover, the risk is less compared to testing on humans. Nevertheless, these reasons are not enough to justify the cruel treatment of animals. With the innovations and technologies available to us today, companies should make an effort to research other ways to test their products ethically. For example, artificial intelligence has made leaps in terms of simulating how human bodies work. Companies should utilize this technology and modify it for their experimentations. Moreover, research is readily available on many platforms and can be used to figure out ways to test these products without harming animals. In conclusion, animal experimentation should be considered barbaric, and laws should be implemented to bar these practices. Regulating bodies should make it compulsory for companies to consider and research alternatives and people should do their due diligence and boycott companies who still do animal experimentation.