The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in school curriculum. To what extent do you agree?

In today’s fast-paced world, many individuals express serious concern about obesity, believing that it could lead to significant challenges such as putting huge pressure on the healthcare system to deal with this issue. However, many argue that changing the school curriculum to introduce more physical activities could offer some substantial benefits to tackle this problem. In my opinion, I firmly agree this approach is crucial for achieving success in decreasing the number of overweight people. A key reason why I strongly support introducing gym classes in schools is its powerful impact on our children ’s health, significantly enhancing their physical well-being. In other words, when schools change their policy to make juveniles do some exercises each week, it develops vital habits to exercise at home which will support the overall health. For instance, after modifying the school’s curriculum in Jordan, children do sport twice a week, which showed to be enough according to many researchers to overcome the sedentary lifestyle they have. This example demonstrates how this approach not only addresses the potential issue but also optimizes processes, making them more effective and efficient. Therefore, gym classes are crucial for achieving success in reducing the load on hospitals to treat obese people. Moreover, embracing physical exercises in our education system brings notable benefits across various aspects of children. It educates our children about the harmful effects of a sedentary lifestyle. This means that children are playing video games and eating junk food at home without any awareness of the detrimental consequences on their health, which leads to more overweight cases in the community. As a result of that, hospitals in recent years are associated with more high blood pressure, diabetes, and stroke cases compared to 40 years ago. Evidence shows that tackling the problem at a younger age will ensure effectiveness. In conclusion, I am convinced that the obesity problem could be tackled by introducing some physical activities in the school curriculum because it drives motivation for sustainable practices, enhances well-being, and ultimately leads to less pressure on the healthcare system. The evidence is clear: the benefits of this approach far outweigh any potential drawbacks, making it the wiser choice in today’s complex world.