Some people think that children should begin their formal education at a very early age. Others think they should begin after 7 years of age. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people reckon that starting education early is beneficial for children; however, others are more drawn to the idea of letting them go to school after the age of seven. While there are equally valid merits of earlier education, I personally believe it is more favourable to delay formal education until after 7 years of age. On the one hand, proponents of attending schools at a much earlier age assume that the early commencement of formal education helps children acquire comprehensive knowledge. As the brain of children at a very young age is more flexible, they can master new skills quickly, such as reading, writing, critical thinking as well as social ones. This, in turn, leads them to be more and faster academically successful. I, on the other hand, tend to argue that parents should not rush into sending children to schools. First and foremost, belated education allows children to be both mentally and physically ready for school. Children who embark on education after 7 years of age are more like to deal with a wide range of challenges that school life presents them than those who start it soon. To be more specific, more mature children can adapt to a new environment. Furthermore, they can spend much more time with their family. This, in effect, enhances their emotional development, helping them acquire a piece of knowledge efficiently. In conclusion, while some are in favour that children should go to school soon, I am of the opinion that it proves more advantageous to begin education after they get older.