Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicine and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent days, there has been an increase in the number of individuals with long-term health concerns resorting to alternative medicine and approaches, rather than sticking to the regular physicians. It is agreed without a doubt that this practice is not a beneficial one. Therefore this essay will discuss the negative impact it has due to its lack of regulations and high costs. Unlike conventional medicine, holistic medicine does not follow the strict rules placed by governments and health organizations. This means that the kind of unorthodox practices used by these practitioners do not undergo scientific research and safety protocols, Which could potentially cause harm to patients or end up wasting their time since those unconventional methods cannot be proven safe or effective. not only that but they can behave badly with people’s bodies. Some herbal remedies, for example, could negatively interact with other prescription medications and cause unwanted and harmful symptoms. Since alternative treatments are not being monitored by governmental agencies. It is no surprise that they are not covered by most insurance plans in cost a lot of money. This means that such treatments are not as accessible nor affordable for the majority of people. Yet, if someone insists hard enough on attending them, they might end up in debt and not necessarily guaranteed results. Acupuncture sessions, for instance, are costly and still do not promise improvements until you do multiple sessions. In conclusion, natural medicine is not beneficial in most cases. Even if it works every once in a while that cannot guarantee a consistent outcome. Not only that, but it could cause more harm than good, especially for those who struggle with serious health issues or are less fortunate when it comes to financial security.