Some people feel that governments should take a large proportion of people' salaries to pay for public services such as roads and schools. Other thinks high taxes are bad. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people claim that authorities should invest in citizen’s taxes and pay for public utilities, but others believe that high taxes will not benefit them. I believe that investing in public services such as roads and schools is essential, but introducing high taxes can lead to a decrease in the quality of life. First of all, taxes play a huge role in the prosperity of each country, allowing many important amenities to be built or maintained. In this way, governments dispose of necessary budget in order to ensure health insurance, good roads, good public schools, kindergarten, and many other necessities that a modern and developed society needs. For example, places like the UAE are well-known for their low tax law, which attracts many investors, but at the same time, citizens should pay for medical services which are not cheap. That is why properly allocated taxes immensely benefit people that require medical assistance. Secondly, high taxes could be a burden for the working class who are trying to survive inflation. If the government decides to rise public taxes, people who are less privileged will, eventually, have a lower amount of disposable money. This will lead to a lower quality of life, considering that the majority of people will not afford a comfortable life. For instance, a vast majority of tax payers who are living in European countries are already giving more than 40% of their earnings. Thus, they feel frustrated and they struggle with a low income. To conclude, I believe that taxes may benefit the majority of people, however, setting a very high tax may contribute to an inferior standard of life for the less well off.