With rising concern about environmental degradation, some argue that the government should hold individuals accountable for their environmental impact. Do you agree or disagree?

As the world continues to globalize, people believe that every person has to be responsible for their impact on the environment over the authority. I partially agree with this opinion, since the ministry cannot be a single driver to mitigate issues caused by environmental decline. Environmental problems should be tackled by making individuals responsible for their negative actions against nature in every situation through being controlled by the authority. The government should have the right to force people to be conscious about the environment, giving penalties and fines and even imprisoning them in jail where they broke the law related to nature. In most cases, the government suffers from financial strain because of sponsoring financially for volunteer work targeted at keeping nature clean and safe. In other words, activities based on minimizing the effects of environmental decadence may require a huge amount of money in the budget of the government with no income in the end, causing issues such as unemployment, fewer public facilities, and a lack of access to basic necessities. As long as the government implements a law for the public to save nature as fresh and clean as possible, it may direct the money on other fields, improving the overall lifestyle of people as a result. However, making individuals accountable for their actions toward nature cannot overcome environmental concerns completely due to globalization across the world. With the development of technology, a hectic lifestyle has emerged among people, leading to time management concerns. Overload of work, childcare, and housework often involve plenty of time, resulting in less attention and time to environmental degradation. Therefore, every individual might not be able to deal with everything in this current modernized world. Another factor why individuals are unable to stand for those troubles is new types of issues that are rising together with cutting-edge inventions such as space exploration. This is not something that can be done with the help of politics. For example, space trash and gases have to be cleaned by special machines with special preparedness. Thus, there are many cases that every person is not able to do appropriately except for just cleaning the surface of the ground from trash, such as bottles, paper, and leaves of trees. In conclusion, even though people can at least slow down the process of environmental discredit, the government plays a major role in the environment regardless of the difficulties it faces.