It is often suggested that schoolchildren should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. What are the advantages and disadvantages? Do you think that advantage of this outweigh the disadvantage?

Schoolchildren usually learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals for various purposes. Assuming that these situations are often decided by the schoolchildren's parents or by teachers, children probably don't have the possibility to choose whether to learn these things or not.  Having said that, in my opinion, there could be many advantages. First of all, children could improve their responsibilities for keeping animals. I think that because they have to teach them, for example saying them how to eat and to act when they are in a public place. Pets can also improve their happiness and keep them company. Talking about vegetables, schoolchildren also need to learn how to maintain them. So children could face to problems or situations they usually don't see in their regular days. Regarding the disadvantages, I think that our lives are more based on technology then before and to grow vegetables could be unusual and not pretty useful, for example. Talking about to keep animals, like dogs or cats for example, I don't see any type of disadvantage. In conclusion, the advantages are more than disadvantages, so I believe schoolchildren should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. When they will grow up they will decide whether to do these things or not.