The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

The proportion of obese children in western nations has grown by approximately 20% since ten years ago. This essay will discuss primary reasons and possible outcomes of this trend. The main reason for the increase of children with obesity is that the outdoor activities such as trekking and jogging, riding bicycles are losing its popularity. Since online platforms and graphics have been developed significantly, children's interest have shift from outside leisures to some indoor hobbies, for instance, computer games, videos which requires less excersise. Therefore, children now don't have many opportunities to burn calories they get from their diet. Another clear factor is the improvement of food security which attributes to the development in distributional industry. Now that food factories can get ingredients produced from all over the world in a cheeper price, some groceries have become considerably affordable even to children. Hence, children can easily buy junk-foods and snacks which contain a lot of sugar and fat that lead to over-wheight. A possible mojor effect by the rise of children who are not in shape is the damage of self-confidence across young generation. Children who gain weight will certainly experience a sort of change in their apperance, and some might be depressed for example by noticing that clothes they used to wear don't fit them anymore. What is worse is that the life expectancy is likely to become shorter because obesity often triggers other serious health issues, such as cardio diseases, highpressure high-pressure or a blood clot which make it hard for them to live a long life. This is clear from the fact that Asian countries such such as Japan and Korea have a longer averagely life compared to western country such as the USA or Canada. In conclusion, outdoor sports becoming less popular could be one reason for overweight children growing its percentage in western area. As a result, those nations might suffer from the young feeling less confident and a shorter life expectancy.