In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? And how can people research this?

People learning about the history of the architecture they live in is becoming common in some nations. This essay will discuss the reason and the possible method for this trend. A major benefit people can get by studying about the history of the building they live in is that they can feel connected to the society and build their feeling as a member of the history flowing in the area. For example, many Japanese primary schools teach students how the school was built originally and how it was change itself which encourage them to feel they are not the only ones raised in the building and become responsible of maintaining the building clean. Another reason could be that more and more people are interested in renovating their house. To design a renovation plan of a house, it is vital to know when and how the building was built especially in a quake-prone country to make the house durable to the shake. In terms of methods, one effective way could be contacting people who are related to the construction or local residents. The architects could provide specific information about how the house was constructed, meanwhile local neighbours could teach what happend happens to the building since it was build until now. Another reliable method is utilizing the internet. For instance, people might be able to access the picture of the building taken in few years ago by typing its adress, or research the development history of the area and get hint of how the area was organised with houses. In conclusion, the trend of an increasing number of people being curious about the history of the architecture they live in could be explained by the seek of connection with the area or the interest in rebuilding the house. As for the means, getting in touch with people who were responsible for the construction and neighbours or accessing resources online could be possible.