Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past thirty years there is a sharp raise of private transport, particularly of cars. Therefore, the biggest part of cities around the world becomes to “one huge traffic jam”. This statement is absolutely true. I am going to write my point of view in the essay. On the one hand, private transport is very useful in real life. People are able to escape wasting time for waiting buses and taxies. Instead of spending money on public transport, citizens can buy their own cars and feel more comfortable and safe in traffic. Furthermore, sometimes having own vehicles is cheaper, than using public transport. Now taxes are extremely expensive and passengers must spend a lot of time and money only for waiting drivers, while they are busy or in traffic jams. For instance, in Semey, Kazakhstan, people can wait for taxes over than one hour, even the ride itself spends three minutes. In the end, they need to pay more than seventy pounds, because the taxi driver wasted his time in a traffic jam. On the other hand, there is huge trouble with transport in the whole world. Governments try to solve this problem by adding brand new buses and building underground lines and so on. However, traffic jams still disturb city’s life and making daily routine more terrible. In conclusion, the main goal of governments’ work must be solving traffic problem. They can make public transport cheaper and even free for citizens. In my opinion, it is the possible answer how people are able to escape traffic jams and make their lives better.