Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among

Many people think that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly method of transportation. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. The reasons behind this are a cycle is a slow mode of transportation, and it requires manual labour to operate. To encourage people for cycling, awareness should be created about the benefits of riding a bicycle. One of the principal reasons for being unpopular is bicycles require manual labour to operate. Generally people do not want to use manual labour while commute to their destinations. Moreover, a bicycle is a slow mode of transportation. It takes a significant amount of time to commute from one place to another through a bicycle. Therefore, in regard to long distances, bicycles are not suitable mode of transportation. For instance, many people do not love to use bicycles as a mode of transportation because they cannot use them while travelling to the majority of their destinations. To make bicycles a favourite mode of transportation among the public, awareness should be created. The government can arrange several campaigns to promote the importance of bicycle among the general public. These campaigns will promote the health and environmental benefits of bicycles. As a result, people will be inspired to choose bicycles as an alternative mode of transportation. They will try to use bicycles where possible. For instance, people in India, use bicycles instead of cars, when they travel at least four or five kilometers from their homes. In conclusion, bicycles are not popular because they are not appropriate for long distance travel, and they require manual labour to operate. Awareness should be created by the government to promote the health and environmental benefits of bicycles.