Some people think that buildings such as flats and houses should be designed to last a long time. Others believe that it is more important to provide accommodation quickly and cheaply. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Many would argue that apartments and houses should be built with the intent to last a long time. Others would disagree and say that fixing the living situation quickly should be a priority instead. This essay will explore both views and provide my own opinion. Firstly, all people should be able to live in well-built apartments and houses in the ideal world. It could be seen as expensive, but it is a cheaper solution in the long term. For instance, there would be fewer expenses for renovations in the future. Furthermore, it could be safer, as contractors could use dangerous materials for cheaper buildings which could cause health issues, for example, asthma. On the other hand, some people have limited resources and can not afford to buy any type of accommodation. There are the pros and cons of providing quicker and cheaper places to live. Obviously, the advantages are cost and timing. Ideally, it could be a good temporary solution, but unfortunately, temporary things often become permanent. Moreover, the government tend to forget about problems in the second after it was fixed. In this case, cheap buildings might become a safety hazard and it could become an unsolvable situation. There are lots of examples of tragedies because safety guidelines were ignored to save time and money. In my opinion, we could build cheap accommodations, but we should keep in mind that its have to be replaced with stable buildings at some point. In conclusion, we should prioritise providing well-constructed places to live, but also build some number of cheaper options following safety guidelines.