Write about the following topic: In many parts of the world, shopping is no longer a way that people buy things that they need, and it has been developed into a form of entertainment. What are the reasons for this development? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many different parts of the world, shopping is not become a part of satisfying their needs but it has been taken a form of entertainment. Technological advancements, economic growth, and the influence of customer culture are main reasons of it. I think it is a positive development as people feel themselves relaxed and spend quality of time with their loved ones. First and foremost reason is that the advent of online shopping, mobile apps and the presence of doing window shopping makes individuals to get engaged and interact towards different products in the market whether they are electric gadgets or related with retail sector. For instance, deals on mobile phones and having 60-70% off on clothing automatically attract consumers and force them to buy these items. Moreover, individuals are economically well as compared to the past decades. Now, they are earning handsome money which helps them to lead a lavish and luxurious lifestyle by spending money on uncommon things. Furthermore, technology made the global world into a small village where individuals are easily connect with each other and influenced with other’s culture as well. Because of that the number of consumer culture is increasing and they love to spend money on buying international brands. I personally believe that it is a positive progress as it is beneficial in various ways. Firstly, people have a hectic schedule. So, they get some time to spend it with their family members. But by visiting different shopping malls, eat out with their loved ones, make their relation healthier and stronger than ever. Secondly, people can enjoy different amenities and feel more satisfied when they take it as a leisure time activity. It not only lessen their physical and mental fatigue but also relax their mind to focus on things carefully. To sum up, shopping is no longer a way of satisfying the basic needs of individuals and it took as an entertainment activity by masses because of the advancements in technology and improving economic situation and customer values are the main causes of increasing it. I think it is a positive step taken by individuals to improve their health and feel the social well-being too.