It is predicted that with the development of technology, people in the 21st century will have much more free time. To what extent has the prediction come true? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the past, the assumption was made that in the twentyfirst twenty-first century we will have to work less because of the advancement in science and technology. This essay believes that this prediction was slighlty true and although we have machines to do the majority of the chores, we are still busy in our lives as we have more work to do to complete the demand in our workplaces. In the last century, advancement in technology has really made the house work far more easier than it was before. We have various machines in our homes to do our daily household activities such as washing machines, microwave oven etc. These inventions have reduced the average amount of time a person usually spend on daily chores. But besides these products and the convenience they had provided us, we still are busy in our lives as we have to work more in order to afford these products. Moreover, as the technology has advanced the amount of task in offices a person has to do has increased significantly. That is because while these inventions have increased the productivity, they also have increased the consumption and as a result the demand has also increased. For instance, the average production of a prominent tea factory was 1000 bags per day in 1940s, but now the same factory manufacture 10000 bags per day. In conclusion, while development in technology may have made certain task easy, the prediction that we will have more free time is not true as we are more busy in our lives because of the increased requirements.