Social media is an essential part of young people’s lives nowadays, but its impact is often criticized. What are the advantages and disadvantages of social media in teenagers’ and young adults’ lives?

ALTHOUGH SOCIAL MEDIA HAS A PARAMOUNT IMPORTANCE IN THE YOUTH'S LIVES, HOWEVER IT IS JUDGED BY PEOPLE DUE TO EFFECTS. IT HAS BOTH ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES IN TEENAGERS ' LIVES. ONE MAJOR ADVANTAGE IS BEING SOURCE OF INFORMATION, THROUGH THE SOCIAL MEDIA BOTH TEENAGERS AND YOUNG ADULTS STAY INFORMED, THEY GET RECENT NEWS AND BROADEN THE HORIZONS AND OUTLOOK. ADDITIONALLY, THEY GET IN TOUCH BY ACCESSING SOCIAL MEDIA PLATFORMS, AND TAKE THE ADVANTAGE OF SUCH FEATURES TEXTING, CALLING, SHARES INFORMATION AND THEIR DAILY LIVES. APART FROM THAT, SOCIAL MEDIA WOULD BE BEST OPTION TO ENLARGE CYCLE OF FRIENDS, PARTICULARLY FOR SOME TEENAGERS WHO ARE ANTISOCIAL AND SUFFER FROM LONELINESS. FOR INSTANCE, TWITTER AND THREADS ARE HIGHLY-RECOMMENDED PLATFROMS FOR MAKING FRIENDS. A FURTHER DRAWBACK IS BEING WASTE OF TIME, BOTH TEENAGERS AND YOUNG ADULTS SPEND MOST OF THEIR DAILY TIME ON SOCIAL MEDIA, JUST SCROLLING THE VIDEOS OR PHOTOS INSTEAD OF DOING PHYSICAL ACTIVITY OR DOING ASSIGNMENTS. IT LEADS TO ADDICTION AND YIELD NEGATIVE RESULTS, NAMELY DEPRESSION, SEDENTARY LIFESTYLE, INSOMNIA. ALL THESE NEGATIVE IMPLICATIONS AFFECT PRODUCTIVITY. TO CONCLUDE, DESPITE SIGNIFICANT BENEFITS OF SOCIAL MEDIA ON TEENAGERS ' LIVES, IT HAS ADVERSE EFFECTS.