In many countries, childhood obesity is a growing problem. What are the reasons for this and what can individuals and governments do to tackle the problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Obesity is a challenging health issue that 35% of the world's population suffers from and its complications. And 28% of this figure are children under the age of 16 years old. In this essay, I will outline the common reasons behind obesity among children and the possible solutions to overcome this phenomenon. Firstly, it can not be denied that the modern lifestyle and unhealthy eating habits are the main causes behind weight issues. A recent epidemiological study found that 76% of urban area residents do less than 5,000 steps/day while they consume a high-calorie diet. The combination of these two life choices will lead to obesity and metabolic syndrome. Thus, a sedentary lifestyle and reduced physical activity in combination with a diet which is high in simple sugars and saturated fats will lead to catastrophic health problems. A BMI (Body Mass Index) higher than 25 is associated with a 9-fold increase in Diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. In 2030, the leading cause of liver transplant is expected to be liver cirrhosis secondary to fatty liver and obesity. Today, medical societies and governmental bodies join efforts to increase society's awareness about the importance of increasing physical activity and adopting a healthy diet. For instance, screening programs for weight-related issues are implemented in all primary care centres which focus on the primary prevention of obesity. Moreover, schools in Saudi Arabia have increased the number of physical activity classes and offer the students to join sports clubs which are free of charge. Furthermore, on a personal level, individuals need a strong well-power commitment to take small steps to improve their overall well-being such as joining team sports, subscribing to healthy meal plans and eating in moderation. Small but consistent initiatives could have a tremendous positive impact on our health. In conclusion, obesity is a serious medical condition which is a threat to the quality of life of human beings especially children and should be prevented by adopting a balanced lifestyle which combines both physical activity and a healthy diet.