Some people think that the main benefit of international cooperation is in the protection of the environment, while others believe that businesses mainly benefit. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In times of globalization, not only there is a plethora of mergers and acquisitions among various corporations from different countries, but also many strategic partnerships are declared between giant transnational conglomerates. Noticing this fad, many eco-activists are convinced, that these enterprises can combine their efforts into solving some crucial environmental issues we currently have. Nevertheless, others have a more realistic point of view. From one side, environmentalists firmly believe, that international cooperation can significantly improve a myriad of existing ecological problems. For example, by joining forces businesses can decrease carbon dioxide emissions they produce, manufacture eco-friendly goods of higher quality, and not only build recycling plants but promote and encourage the recycling process altogether. Moreover, successful cooperation will inevitably lead to a bigger cash flow, which could be used for investments or donations to various causes and non-profit organizations. However, realists argue, that the main goal of any enterprise is to increase its market share, and stock price, and consequently receive as much profit as possible. Having said that, unfortunately, businesses do not benefit from spending their money and resources on solving environmental problems, it only helps with their brand image, awareness, and promotion. In addition, while sustainability reports are obligatory to publish for major corporations, it is evident that financial performances remain of greater value for investors and commercial organizations. In conclusion, while I firmly believe, that most companies must put as much effort as possible to protect the environment, I have to agree with the fact that it is not their primary goal. Had it been their concern, many environmental problems we currently have would have been solved or minimized already.