Nowadays, students sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals?

In today's society, students tend to get less sleep compared to the past. There are several major problems behind this. This essay will explain the reasons and the effects of lack of sleep. Firstly, technological developments play a huge role in students ' lack of sleep compared to past times. In the past, there were nearly no activity to do after sunset. There were no video games, no phones, nothing so, nightlife was very slow, especially for students. As a result, people used to go home early and have enough time to do their nighttime routine and sleep early. On the other hand, nowadays you can nearly do everything you can in daylight, at night time as well. There are phones and video games which students especially use at night times since they cannot during the school time. So, they use their nighttime to socialize, chat with friends, and play video games till late. This results in them staying up late and not getting much sleep. For example, my brother who is 13, plays video games every day till late. Because of this, he can sleep only for 4 hours each day. Social media plays a huge role in the lack of sleep children get. As social media become a part of each individual's life its effects become obvious, especially in young people who do not have the strongest idea of what is right or wrong. In social media, popular influencers promote lack of sleep as something cool. This results in, students who want to be cool and become famous like them imitating them and sleeping less and less. For instance, when I was 14, the most popular influencer at the time, Emma Chamberlain always talked about how she only sleeps like 3 hours. Wanting to be like her, I started to sleep only 3 hours. The effects of lack of sleep are various. First of all, lack of sleep results in a shortened time of focus. One's body gets tired and needs sleep to recharge but as students sleep less, the body cannot fully recharge itself. As a result, it can only focus for a small period of time. This results in students not being as good as in their school. As their amount of focus time decrease, they will gradually understand less of each class and this will result in their grades falling. Another result is fatigue, as your body sleeps less and less it will gradually require this rest. This fatigue will make students sleepy during class and again will prevent them from listening to class and doing good on tests. To sum up, technological developments like phones and video games and social media are some of the primary reasons students tend to sleep less than past times. The effects of this lack of sleep are less focus and fatigue. These will lead to falling grades.