"Nowadays, students sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals?"

In recent years, the number of juveniles who sleep less than their predecessor has increased rapidly due to students’ dealing with a large number of academic tasks as well as many of them prefer time on social media oversleep. This essay will elucidate both the reasons and provide a personal perspective. A primary factor leading to insomnia is doing lots of homework. This arises because nowadays youngsters attend extracurricular activities and in the end, get plenty of tasks at home, requiring intensive effort to fulfil in a day. For instance, according to a study, 50% of extracurricular activities attendants are expected to carry out a number of tasks equal to a small book just in a day. As a consequence of this, students choose to sleep fewer hours and finish their given assignments. Another reason which is worth mentioning is that teenagers are addicted to social media, including: Instagram, Snapchat, TikTok and the list goes on and on. As a result, students spend their time socializing with others instead of getting enough sleep. Nevertheless, it is essential to recognize that sleeplessness has detrimental effects. Primarily, this causes severe health issues such as depression as lack of sleep disrupts serotonin production. For instance, statistic shows that 35% of people with insomnia suffer from psychological diseases because of it. Furthermore, it is widely accepted that insomnia causes cardiovascular diseases as lack of sleep also affects your health badly. As far as I’m concerned, many of my classmates sleep less than 6 hours per day. I can see the consequence of it every day, many of them are not doing well during classes, they fall asleep very easily and many, many more. To sum up, I firmly assert sleeplessness causes severe health and psychological damage. Fixing your day schedule, getting more than 8 hours of sleep and engaging in sports activities makes your life feel so much better.