The huge increase in the number of people with illnesses caused by air pollution from motor vehicles has led to calls for all motorised vehicles to be banned from town and city centres. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this suggestion ?

It is considered that banning cars, trucks and motos from metropoles would effectively answer health issues caused by air pollution. I personally agree that global warming requires taking radical decisions. However, I am concerned by the social consequences and the changes brought by this proposition. Global warming is a fact annually illustrated by scientists. A large majority of them recently urged governments from making more strong efforts to control the warming and its health consequences like asthma, baby’s illnesses and so on. Around one third of the asked effort is about the reduction of motor vehicles’ pollution and air rejections. In front of it, it appears logical to ban vehicles from the urban centers. Some European Nordic cities like Copenhagen have successfully made this decision with developing alternatives like the improve of public transportation and the cycles’ access. Despite this example of success story, prefer some vehicles than others in that extend brings negative impacts. First, it is considered that banning cars from cities strengthens the town’s attractivity for upper-revenues people, but not for those who have less-paid jobs. People who cannot afford less-pollution cars would live in the cities near the free car area like the hospital workers or the policemen. This decision could design a city where nobody who works for it can live in it. Consequently, the population of these cities could also change years after years by welcoming more retired people than young families. Businesses would not find advantages to stay in this area despite invest in more spacious buildings in sub-urban towns where workers live. To conclude, if banning cars from cities seems to be a part of the global warming answer, I strongly recommend to side this decision by social actions to maintain the economic attractivity and the happiness of living here.