In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Different views among cultures about advising children to try hard toward gaining their various goals have been a vital topic of debate. While in some cultures, it is argued that children can achieve their goals by trying hard, I strongly disagree with this approach and believe that children can reach their ambitions setting practical goals. First of all, making an effort has brought various benefits for both children and societies, developing advanced communications. Therefore, if children are encouraged by their parents and schools from younger ages, they will inherently become more successful in achieving their goals. For instance, some intelligent children need encouragement from their environment to set significant goals in life, such as achieving higher education in science and technology, which can play a significant role in improving and advancing societies. Additionally, it is evident that the more effort individuals make from younger ages, the more success they can achieve in the future. Conversely, however, in some cultures, parents and schools put countless pressures on children to achieve their goals, leading to harmful consequences, such as less self-esteem and confidence. In other words, these kinds of extra pressures can result in detrimental effects. A prime illustration of this is a boy who finds himself under a lot of pressure to take extracurriculars in science and mathematics at school, whereas he is inherently interested in art disciplines. As a result, this boy, as a young man, might be raised with a sense of lack of confidence. Moreover, by placing more emphasis on inherent intelligence and natural gifts, it is essential to prevent children from setting unachievable goals for themselves. In conclusion, there are various opinions in different cultures about advising children to exert a lot of effort to become successful. Although there are various benefits to this approach, I strongly disagree with this approach and argue that children should set achievable goals in their lives.