Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Demand for energy resorces like oil and natural gas has increased significantly. As they are not renewable sources and are limited, countries are trying to find secluded places to find new sources of oil and gas. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this search. I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages for several reasons. First of all, the advantage is that it can help with the country's economy. Right now, factories, cars, planes, ships and other transportation means mostly use oil and gas. If they are scarce the prices will rise which will eventually increase the cost of shipping hence the price of the products. So, finding new sources in remote places can help the economic crisis. For example, Middle Eastern countries, with their oil and gas reserves, can enjoy a higher standard of living due to lower material costs. On the other hand, despite the advantages, the primary disadvantage of extracting oil and gas from the untouched places is that they will cause significant environmental damage. As an example, the Antarctic region is home to many glaciers and animals like polar bears and penguins. Because such extraction would harm the habitats, and in particular, any spillages would be disastrous to the environment. Not only this, but other drawbacks are global warming and climate change. The excessive use of fossil fuels and oil draw out leads to a rise in global temperatures. So, exploitation of the green regions and drilling of natural resources will directly threaten the whole earth. To sum up, although the extraction of natural resources has a certain benefit, it also harms the ecosystem, which outweighs the advantages. Thus, in my opinion, humans should stop exploring undiscovered lands to utilize their needs, and it is better to seek alternatives like renewable energy.