Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, many countries believe that economic progression is the most crucial goal, while others argue that other aspects of society should also be prioritized for development. In the following essay, I am going to discuss both sides of this argument and state my opinion on the matter. On the one hand, the advancement of the economy could lead to an increase in the living standards of society. Simply put, the progression of the market could create more employment opportunities, thus lowering the unemployment rate, as well as the crime rate. Hence, people could earn money to pay for their basic necessities and have access to healthcare and social welfare. For example, in the 1980s Vietnamese people were struggling with difficult lives, but with the economic reform program known as “Doi Moi” in 1986, the market flourished and created several new jobs for Vietnamese people, leading to the increase in minimum wage and nowadays most citizens in Vietnam can live comfortably with their salaries. On the other hand, other aspects of society should also be designated for development, such as education and technology. Given a scenario in which a country focuses solely on the economy, in the short term this would bring about a surge in living standards as citizens can earn more money. However, in the long run, this market will not be sustainable because of the lack of a high-quality workforce who can operate machines and utilize technology in their daily tasks. This is because, with the advancements in technology, most tasks are computer-based to maximize efficiency while also minimizing the risk of critical errors. Thus, if individuals are not equipped with the knowledge and skills they will be able to work in an automated environment. In conclusion, while many nations claim that the most crucial goal is economic progress, others suggest that other types of development are equally vital. From my point of view, I agree that while the economy is important, a country should not focus solely on it, and should consider other progression to create a strong, influential country.