Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, motorcycles are banned in the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, some towns have put in place some public transport days and on such days, private cars, trucks and motorcycles are not allowed in centers. Although, this can cause insufficient transport, I believe that the positives overshadow the negatives due to the fact that it reduces traffic congestion. On the one hand, the proponents of those who support the earlier view say that banning private transport on some days will cause insufficient transport in cities. If the country has few buses, taxis and metros that enter in the city, this would mean that some people will not be able to move to town as a result of busses not being enough. Also different individuals will be stack and a few of the business places will be closed down. For example, research done by Mr James at bugema University showed that nations that announced vehicle-free days experienced shutdown of some businesses since some individuals can not bear using taxis. Despite of this, I still think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the other hand, I agree with those who believe in car-free days in centers because it leads to reduction of traffic congestion. When so many people have cars that enters in the cities, I think this will causes a lot of traffic jam during the rush hour of reporting at work and going back home. Hence this leaves the cities congested and polluted. For instance, in Kampala the capital city of Uganda, jam is always a problem during the working days and this has forced the government to think of banning self-cars in town. Therefore, this decision will simplify a lot of travel-related issues and increase awareness. In conclusion, even though taxi-free days are discouraged in some towns because of less public transport, I still believe that the benefits outweigh the negatives due to the congestion of many vehicles.