Procrastination, or the act of delaying a task, has been cited in some research articles as one of the factors for poor academic performance by some university students. What are some of the reasons behind students procrastinating, and what measures can be taken to address the problem?

Procrastination and the act of delaying a task are significant problems for some university students. Besides, it affects the student’s academic performance. The reason for this problem is caused by, students do not have enough time for studying to the subjects. Although some educators recommend that students should study periodically. On the one hand, the major effect of delaying and procrastinating is that students don't have enough time for studying. For example, engineering students have lots of subjects to study. They always think that studying a project is a waste of time and they think they could work on it later. Nevertheless, it never has a good comeback. Because the link the work on the last minute doesn't have a value. Some researchers believe that working at the last minute is reducing academic performance in spite of not studying on time. On the other hand, many educators and successful students believe that to achieve academic performance it is needed to study periodically. For instance, the student should work on time and practice a lot. Because studying on time and practising have a significant impact on success. Additionally, the students who tried to not delay their work saw significant improvement in their grades. In conclusion, the act of delaying and procrastinating is caused by not having enough time for studying. Experts say that studying periodically reduces the act of delaying and helps with achieving success. Many students who tried this technique said that they saw a significant increase in their grades.