Many businesses choose to recruit from within their own country rather than sourcing staff from overseas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, entrepreneurs prefer to employ their staff from their fellow citizens rather than recruit a workforce from foreign countries. While there are some drawbacks associated with hiring compatriots, I believe the main benefits are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential disadvantage of employing people from their own country may be depriving them of global competition. Globalization has been taking place so fast and international communication is not only a demand but also a determining factor in increasing companies’ economic growth. In other words, recruiting staff from other countries may open a world of opportunity to various perspectives and cultures which can promote innovation and competitiveness. As a result, the overseas workforce may boost the efficiency of businesses. Another perceived negative is that companies which choose their employees from other countries are more likely to improve cross-cultural communications leading to earning higher income and developing relations among customers and traders. On the other hand, a primary advantage of sourcing the workers from fellow citizens is that local employees are more familiar with the local market, language and social norms, which makes it easier for them to integrate into the company’s culture and work effectively. To clarify, being in harmony with the job environment helps employees reduce their stress and have the self-esteem to accomplish their tasks confidently. Consequently, it may lead to making much more profit for the company compared with the overseas workers. A further benefit is recruiting a local workforce can reduce the cost of employment as there is no need to arrange visas or work permits for them. From an economic standpoint, hiring compatriots brings many significant benefits for businesses, namely decreasing the possibility of cultural clash which leads to different problems between colleagues. For instance, a foreigner may be unwilling to blend into the host country’s culture, therefore, misunderstandings may happen during the work process. On balance, it is true that recruiting a local workforce would seem disadvantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my view, its positive effects in terms of decreasing potential cultural issues and spending less money outweigh the disadvantages.