In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

Other nations recommend young students to experience travelling and working in a span of one year after completing high school or before entering university. With this, students are able to relax or earn money before starting a new chapter, however, it delays some students who have academic plans. Schooling is surely stressful at times, making people experience various emotions such as exhaustion, burnout and even depression. That is why travelling is a way to release stress from overwhelming academic issues. Moreover, it gives schoolers enough time to relax, try out fun activities and forget about the negative thoughts relating to school. Furthermore, if they opt to work, it is a significant step if their goal is to save up funds for the coming school year. For instance, encouraging a working student to take a job for a year will aid them in earning additional income to support themselves. Therefore, this approach supports young students who are suffering mental and physical issues as well as financial problems. On the contrary, there are negative results to this, firstly, instead of finishing college on time, this causes delays, especially to those students with planned goals. For instance, a nursing student who is looking forward to attaining a bachelor's degree, taking the national examination on time, becoming professional and earning a higher salary will take a long time to achieve these goals. Secondly, there is no assurance of traveling with enough money, especially at their age. Lastly, looking for jobs can be difficult because of the qualifications set by companies which usually require a finished degree. In conclusion, it is an advantage to allocate time to travel or work, especially to those students experiencing financial and mental instability. However, this prolongs the time for those who aim to achieve a degree and not everyone can attain jobs within a year.