It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. You should write at least 350 words for each answer, including specific examples.

In Vietnam, the introduction of a new education program has significantly altered the way students approach the national standardized test. Many of them choose to enrol in the test combination that mainly involves social rather than scientific subjects. However, this possibly leads to far-reaching impacts on the human capital and contributory forces of our country. This essay will suggest some possible factors behind the reduced interest in scientific subjects and then cover the consequences of this trend. There are some reasons for low interest in pursuing science -based disciplines. One of the leading causes is the academic vigour confronting students during the learning process. Those opting to specialize in the scientific major have to deal with a large amount of analytical, calculating and intellectual tasks, which demand rigid adherence to rules and formulas. Additionally, learning methods are not as diverse and accessible, for instance, linguistics students can learn through entertaining resources like music, books or films, while a computer developer can only rely on his computer and coding program, which puts off many learners who do not have a high boredom threshold. As a result, the pursuit of scientific subjects is a stressful, weary and intellectually challenging journey, which only a few students with aptitudes and strong determination can endure. Another contributing factor is the lack of encouragement and guidance in schools. Many educational systems do not provide enough support for students who may be struggling with science subjects. For example, schools might not have well-trained science teachers or adequate laboratory facilities to spark curiosity and engagement in scientific topics. A large number of students are driven to specialize in social subjects, which potentially risks a stepback of the nation’s standing. An asymmetric workforce of limited scientific knowledge may hinder the speed of industrialization and consequently the modernization process of the country due to a lack of human capital in relevant fields. For example, there is now a serious shortage of workforce in the computer science industry in Vietnam despite very good salaries offered, resulting in disruptions in the promotion of automation and digitalization. In addition, such shortages also hinder the development of a holistic economy, making Vietnam lose its competitive edge in international relationships and global investment. There will be difficulties in promotingthe exchange of information in fields like science, technology and manufacturing with powerful counterparts like America and China, as well as the coming of a less attractive market of limited human capital in driving innovations and scientific breakthroughs. In conclusion, the current trend in the option of university discipline probably stems from the vigorous academic nature of scientific subjects and a lack of support in education. Unfortunately, this may lead to the disproportionate competence of the future workforce and result in the country’s reduced ability to apply the advancements of technology and gain benefits in international collaboration.