Some experts believe that it is better to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school has brought a debate between experts. While studying a new language at an early age has several benefits such as learning quicker,it also poses drawbacks like pressurizing kids to study more and overwhelming them. This essay will examine both ideas. On one hand, learning a foreign language at primary school may be beneficial as children have more free time. For example,with only an hour studying in school every day, they will become master in that language as their brain is more flexible and can absorb study materials better. Additionally, this can enhance their creativity as they are using different parts of their brain. Moreover, with practising a new language, they tend to have more conversations in the classroom whether with their classmates or as a presentation which will result in developing more social skills and making them more interactive. Despite its benefits, practising another language at primary school also presents significant drawbacks. Due to the educational burden and heavy study materials, they may lose their interest in studying and this will cause a decline in their marks. For instance,some students may need more time to learn a particular subject like math,and besides their usual curriculum, they have to learn a foreign language as well, which will tend to weaken in both subjects. In conclusion,learning an extra language alongside their normal school materials can be overwhelming in some cases if the education system doesn't pay enough attention and plan it in a organized and programmed way with professionals to run this part.