In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problem for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people generally live longer than before due to science, medicines and nutrition foods. However, the ageing population is a controversial issue today. On the one hand, many people believe that it has some advantages such as mentoring and a decrease in crime, on the other hand, some people think that few drawbacks to the economy of the elderly population. This essay will describe the extent to which the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. It is clear that elder people are increasing day by day. The biggest benefit of this situation is that older people can do mentorship for younger people. Usually, young citizens need a lot of advice about their lives and careers. If the ageing population increases, young people can find useful advice. Another case is criminal issues. Today the world is really dangerous and research has shown that younger humans are more dangerous than older people. Because young people have got so many ambitions more than older people's. So, because of this statement, if the ageing population rises, criminal issues fall. On the other hand, the community which has many older individuals brings some handicaps. The most important trouble is about the economy. Aged humankind generally can not work any jobs. As a result of this, Government have to care for these humans. This situation causes economic problems and pressure on governments. Another problem is health care expenses. When people become elderly, they need so much health care, medicine and doctor services. These expenses pressure on government budgets. To sum up, taking everything into account, the increasing elderly population has both benefits and drawbacks. But it seems to me that its advantages outweigh its disadvantages. Because of mentorship and decreasing criminal issues.