In many parts of the world there is continuous coverage of sport on television. Some people believe this discourages the young from taking part in sport themselves. Discuss this view and give your opinion

The abundance of sports programs that are being shown on television could impact the viewers, particularly young people. This can lead them to gradually lose interest in sports or encourage them more. In my opinion, I side with the latter statement because most teenagers view physical activities positively since they are fascinated by athletes, which drives them to follow their pathways in becoming their role models. Some young adults who often enjoy watching sports events tend to have less interest in engaging in sports because they perceive it as a tiring activity, resulting in a higher sedentary population. Thus, they prefer to be an audience, while do not take part in it. For example, some teenagers in the United States who routinely watch the NBA tournaments on television, never actually play sports throughout their lives because they just want to fulfil their excitement and follow the trends, whereas in reality, they do not actually participate in any physical training. On the other side, seeing sports programs can significantly increase their intentions to do physical activities because they admire their favoured athletes or players, which increases their desire to be like them. Therefore, they vigorously copy their journey by allowing themselves to become more sporty as their role models. To exemplify, most young people in Indonesia are extremely excited when they watch a football match on television and cheer on their favourite players, which influences them to become athletes. Hence, they are being encouraged to take a football lesson to improve their skills as well as impress other people. In conclusion, there is a possibility of losing interest in having more physical activities by watching sports due to their perspectives. Nevertheless, the majority of adolescents still persistently do it because they have a strong desire to become an admirable person who inspires them.