The best way to reduce poverty in developing countries is by giving up to 6 years of free education, so that they can at least read, write and use numbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that the best way to slow down poverty in a country which is still developing, is by reducing the years at public school. By doing so, they will learn just the basic knowledge such as reading and writing. I strongly disagree with this view, and the reasons why I have another opinion will be discussed in this essay. First of all, one of the reasons why I’m against this view is that education is one of the most powerful ways to overcome poverty. In other words, education is the most powerful tool to fully succeed as a society at large. To give an example, children who are able to complete all the stages of education, from pre-schools to university, will be able to become successful workers. Education will allow them to elevate themselves by giving all the knowledge they need, and they will be also capable of living a fulfilling life. Secondly, stopping to study at a certain age when students have just learnt to read and write may increase the number of crimes. The school is a crucial environment where children are occupied and are guided by their teachers. Therefore If they go to work early, the risk of being influenced by negative people, in order to make more money, may be higher than staying at school and keep learning in order to become an independent person. To conclude, I firmly disagree with those people who think that reducing years at school will help the country to develop faster, because it’s much better giving more time to study to the future generation in order to allow them, one day, to be successful people who are knowledgeable enough to help to develop their countries. As I mentioned previously, education is vital for all human beings in order to grow, firstly as an individual and secondly as a whole society and also without it the rate of crimes may increase, causing a lot of issues to the community who have to deal with these alarming problems.