Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no denying that nowadays cities are crowded by vehicles, this situation could be the result of the facilities that drivers have been getting over the last three decades to buy a new car. I agree with this statement as I have experienced it myself. Recently, governments have been applying measures to improve the situation. Firstly, traffic jams are formed every day in urban and industrial areas as well as in the city centre because of workers heading to their jobs. Secondly, the lack of public transport lines with stops near these main workplaces is one of the main causes of the problem. Consequently, people have no option but to use their own vehicles. From my own experience, driving to the university in the morning was a total disaster, I had to leave 30 minutes in advance in order to arrive in time owing to traffic. On the other hand, organizations are claiming to regulate this situation. Mainly, because car use is directly related to health problems and also to improve circulation in big cities. One of the decisions that has been made recently is to increase the frequency of the bus and subway system, plus add new routes to reach places that were not accessible before. Moreover, in my city, public transport fares have been reduced to encourage users not to use private cars. To conclude, despite the growth of car owners over the last thirty years, there are some solutions that can be applied by the government to end traffic jams by means of the implementation of new regulations such as new fares.