In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing.

There has been a trend towards urbanization and industrialization in the 21st century with tremendous shifts in population from rural to urban areas leading to the advent of myriad of social and economic shortcomings. I consider that this has quite negatively impacted our lives. In the forth coming paragraphs I shall be elucidating the reasons for the same. To begin with, as population is shifting to cities which are incredibly becoming congested and overpopulated resulting in tiny living spaces with compromised health and privacy. The sky-high tall buildings provide hundreds of families with substantial accommodation and less per capita area per person with shared kitchens and toilets by larger people resulting in poor hygiene and the spread endemics. For instance the cities like Mumbai and Pune were in COVID were worst affected due to overpopulation. Lastly, the shift pattern has been associated with exuberant economic issues leading to exorbitant property prices over burdening the economically weaker sections of the society. Buying an apartment becomes an unpragmatic feat for the lower section with a large sum of wages spent on renting an apartment leading to further economic differences. According to recent statistics in the Times of India, newspaper 30-40% of the income of middle-class families are spent on leasing a shared accommodation in Mumbai. To conclude, Urbanization has definite perks of improved technology and sophistication but comes with the cost of overcrowding leading to a plethora of medical hazards and a surged cost of living which can be partly negotiated by proper planning and development of rural and urban areas.