In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

With the proliferation of professional training courses, young people have started to undermine the benefits of university education. While work-based trainings offer hands-on skills, I firmly believe that university education has superior benefits in terms of interpersonal skills and valuable degrees. This essay will discuss how attending a univeristy outweighs the learning outcomes of professional courses. One of the primary advantage of going to a university is the grooming of interpersonal skills along with the career-focused education. Students who attend universities or colleges not only develop necessary skillset for their career, they also learn cognitive and communication skills while collaboratiing with others. For example, students work on group assignments which fosters professional skills as well as teamwork. Therefore, university education is very beneficial for soft skills. Another key benefit of attending a university is that students are awarded with highly valuable degrees upon the completion of their curriculum. These degrees are recognised all over the world, opening the doors for good opportunities abroad. For instance, when students apply for higher education in other countries, they are assessed based on their undergraduate credentials. So, graduating from a university layout the pathway for future opportunities. Admittedly, while university education provides certain ad-ons, professional trainings are also valuable to learn hands-on skills. Attending work-focused practical courses acquires youngsters with in-depth knowledge of their work domains. Students can enrol in these professional courses if they want to polish their skillset after completing the university. By doing this, young people can easily compete in the highly saturated job markets. In conclusion, even though professional trainings can help in learning practical skills, the benefits of attending a university are more when it comes to soft skills and valuable credentials awarded by universities. Attending colleges should be prefered over professional trainings. However, students can enrol themselves in these trainings if they want to further polish their skillset.