Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a proposal that an equal number of male and female students should be admitted by universities for each course. While this suggestion seems valid on the face of it, it severely compromises the quality of higher education. Therefore, traditional approaches to select prospective students should remain intact. Admittedly, accepting the same number of students from both genders can be somewhat beneficial in some instances, one of which is promoted fairness. It is a common picture that females tend to be underrepresented in many sectors, including education, and are deemed inferior to their male counterparts. To buffer this enduring injustice, equal quotas for applicants from both sexes would go a long way. Another argument complementing the first is that female workforce would involve more skilled and highly-qualified women when they receive proper education at university. Given the fact that many job positions are overwhelmingly occupied by men, it would only be just if more women were to gain formal training for their prospective roles. This objective can therefore be greatly fulfilled once the given suggestion translates to an immediate reality. Justifiable as they seem, these arguments are overshadowed by the potential drawbacks associated with the proposal. First and foremost, striking an equilibrium in the number of male and female students is almost impractical considering the possibility of disqualifying eligible students, whether men or women, for the quota. Fairness is not always about achieving a numerical balance, but an equitable share of deserving individuals. In so doing, not only do universities accept worthy people, regardless of their sexes, but these institutions also deliver the necessary knowledge to the pillar of society. Also of significance is that the national employment could suffer from the less competent workforce in the long-run. By admitting the same number of males and females, universities can run the risk of preparing mediocre students for employment, which can greatly affect the quality of output and national economy if left unaddressed. In conclusion, although I acknowledge the significance of accepting an equal count of students from both genders to tertiary education, especially when viewed through the lens of improved gender equality and empowered female workforce, overlooking the ramifications that accompany this suggestion would be absurd. Thus, it is important to holistically approach this matter and not to discriminate anyone against their identities by presenting similar privileges.