Some people believe that all children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others feel it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language is a contentious issue debated nowadays, with some people thinking that children should be taught a foreign language from the beginning of school, while others believe that it is better for children to wait until secondary school. This essay will examine some key points regarding both views. On the one hand, learning a new language in primary school might be a good decision, considering that a child's brain is very sharp and capable of receiving and processing information. In other words, a child can learn and process information faster than older individuals. For example, a child raised in a family that speaks two or three different languages is usually able to fully understand and process all of them. On the other hand, some people believe that it is better for children to wait until secondary school, as learning a foreign language is not mandatory. Although languages, especially English, have become quite important as a global language, it is better for children to first focus on learning their native language in primary school. Furthermore, there are many basic skills that children should learn, such as their native language, social norms, and other foundational knowledge, before moving on to a foreign language. I firmly agree with this view, as there are many other essential skills to learn before focusing on a foreign language. In conclusion, learning a foreign language is important in society, and children should be encouraged to learn a foreign language, whether in primary or secondary school. However, I personally believe that children can learn a new language more effectively in secondary school, considering that foreign languages are not mandatory at a younger age.