Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

These days, learning a second language is a trending subject. Some people argue that the only reason for learning another language is to travel to or work in a foreign country. Meanwhile, some believe that the ability to speak a foreing language has more aspects. In this essay, I will look at both sides and in the end I will propose my own view. Generally, people who are not satisfied with their own country situation, try to learn a new language to migrate. They think they can find better opportunities this way. For this group, learning the destination language is the first step and it is also the most important one. If they do so, they can adopt with the new environment and if they were qualified enough, they would easily find a suitable job. Having say that, some people feel that learning a foreign language has far more benefits. For example, scholars can research in foreign journals and text books. Furthermore, they can communicate with foreign researchers and expand their knowledge. Consequentely, although they are still living in their own country, they can achieve a great deal of scientific sources and keep theirselves up to date. In conclusion, most people tend to learn a new language for an immigration purpose or to level up their career. In my opinion, despite learning new things is not easy, studying a foreign language is not a waste of time. Someone could experience wonderful things in a new country and another one may achieve better results in his or her job and all these good things can happen if only they have the ability to speak a foreign language.