Some people suggest that social networking and online communication have increased social isolation. In what ways do you think this has happened? Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While social media was aimed to connect people, in reality social media platforms increase social isolation. Actually, these platforms are equipt with many features for users to engage with each other. However, I think we could not replace face to face interaction with online communication. Firstly, social media facilitates people to connect with other people through its platform which means nowadays we need mediator to be connected. However, the connection is not as real as when human meets with others. Social media creates distances between communities because it become a mediation. The human relation evolves to an indirect relationship when in fact we are interacted with machine. Secondly, the online communication including social media platforms such as Twitter, Instagram and Faceboo cover only limiteds ways of communication. Communication is a complex matter consist of verbal, sound, and most importantly body language, including touching others. For example when you say you are sorry to someone, your not just communicate through words, but with with gestures as well such as face expression and even hugging. Even tough many gadget advertisments try to convince people that the advancement of technologies help people to connect with others, they do not reveal the whole picture. Social media creates distances and uncomplete human's ways of communication. Therefore, it easily could move people away from his communities. In the future, I have a suggestion the make a free-social- media time policy at least in our house.