Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been much controversy around the importance of studying food science and cooking. While some insist that schools should place more emphasis on teaching core subjects such as math or science, I would argue that food -related courses should also be an option in the curriculum. On the one hand, the core disciplines standard at most schools are imperative for one’s future career. These subjects give students basic knowledge in many areas, help them to land a good job and make it easier for them to transit into a professional environment. For example, logical thinking acquired during math lessons and critical thinking fostered by literature will make for a confident individual who is up for a challenge, able to solve problems, and ultimately able to make informed choices about their future. On the other hand, a solid understanding of food and cooking will benefit students immensely in many respects. Firstly, scientific knowledge about food encourages students to take a health-conscious approach to their diet. Students can see the value of healthy eating habits and know which foods are harmful to their physical health. Therefore, they are more likely to adopt a balanced diet rather than consuming junk food. Furthermore, equipping young people with the foundational knowledge of food science will build up their self-reliance and enable them to lead independent lives. Armed with a knowledge of food science, they will also be more capable of adjusting to living on their own because they can prepare nutritious home-made food without relying on fast food or processed food. In conclusion, I believe studying nutrition and food preparation is of paramount significance in leading a healthy and independent lifestyle. Thus, courses about food should be included as an option in the school curriculum.