Constructive feedback from teachers, including deserved praise and specific suggestions, helps students learn, as well as develop positive self-esteem; to suggest the contrary can produce harmful effects. Discuss the statement and give your opinion.

Learning is a two-way process that thrives on the contribution of learners and teachers. While students are responsible for appreciative participation, teachers also play an essential role in creating an engaging environment that motivates their learners. To achieve this, they are expected to provide students with constructive feedback and assessment. This essay will make the case for the argument. By making authentic complimentary comments and suggesting fine adjustments, teachers provide learners with great inspiration to learn. Sincere compliments validate one’s effort and provide great sources of fulfilment, which fosters further engagement and enthusiasm to step out of comfort zone. For example, a student may view literature as a boring and theory-related subject until his teacher shows a high appreciation for his essays. This urges him to enhance his strength in the subject by looking for more documents and writing techniques as he desires to get more compliments from the teacher. Also, it is crucial that the instructor observe the learning process closely enough and give comprehensive assessments. Detailed comments on group-working projects or personal feedback on exercises, test papers, etc. together with correcting clues enable students to realize and fix their limitations, and in so doing, gain deeper understanding and longer memory retention. For example, students learning to write computer codes improve their skills and reinforce their knowledge by consulting their tutor for the optimum solution to a riddle and any mistakes remain. On the other hand, learning with a critical teacher is a thankless and depressing experience, which undermines the learner’s self-worth and suppresses the willingness to attend class. In such cases, students tend to refrain from making mistakes and stifle their new ideas, which significantly limits room for improvement and creativity. Moreover, a lack of feedback and assessment leads to an inconclusive learning process, where learners do not properly or fully grasp the knowledge given by teachers. Learners may never find out their weaknesses and subsequently be unable to make changes, hence failing to achieve the desired academic performance and receive the benefits of learning. In conclusion, compliments and constructive assessments given by teachers pave the way for a rewarding and progressive learning experience. The shortage of such substantial elements may risk learner’s imagination and confront them with hollow acquisition of knowledge.