Air traffic is increasingly leading to more noise, pollution and airport construction. One reason for this is the growth in low-cost passenger flights, often to holiday destinations. Some people say that governments should try to reduce air traffic by taxing it more heavily. Do you agree or disagree

Urbanisation and modern life have presented people with many challenges and decisions, none of which are too rudimentary to be ignored. However, the crux of the matter is related to environmental matters. While some argue the best way to reduce the rate of pollution, which is caused by areoplanes, is nothing but simply to increase the cost of travelling, in my view, although protecting the ecosystem is a serious business, it does not necessarily mean the government is allowed to do it, even at the cost of making trouble for residents. On the one hand, our environment is what our life is all about. To clarify, a vast amount of fossil fuels is burned by airplanes to reach their destinations, which results in air pollution. This not only endangers the lives of humans, but also the lives of many flora and fauna. Hence, it is the responsibility of high-ranking officials to address this complex issue with sustainable alternatives rather than solely focusing on taxes. On the other hand, money goes a long way in this modern era. Nowadays, many suffer from crippling poverty, especially in my country, Iran. If the government increases ticket prices to reduce the excessive use of air travel, residents are left with no choice but to buy them, which puts a lot of financial pressure on them. Moreover, this is by far the fastest way of travelling for individuals around the world, so it is not fair to deprive them of this convenient facility just for the sake of decreasing the amount of carbon dioxide. In conclusion, the fact that our environment plays a crucial role in the well-being of society is obvious to all. In my view, it is not logical to sacrifice the welfare of city dwellers to preserve our natural environment. In fact, the authorities are in charge of addressing such an important problem by passing rules and measures, such as utilising solar power batteries instead of burning petroleum or oil.