Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that a nation needs to be self-sustainable and invest in agriculture so it does not need to buy fresh produce and meat from other countries. At first glance, this may be helpful to strengthen the local economy and contribute to the well-being of the population. However, it is important to take into consideration that we live in a globalised world where commercial activities among different countries tend to bring more positive outcomes than the opposite. On the one hand, having a developed and reliable agro-industry means having more negotiation power over goods such as soy, orange, milk and other vital products. In other words, it means that the local government can stipulate the prices for the final consumer based solely on their own interest, without being influenced by economic crisis of other countries. If there is a war, for instance, that is affecting the price of commodities and other goods, a self-sustainable country may not be affected by it, differently from those who are dependent on the nations involved in the conflict. As a result, its habitants do not face a strong economic crisis. On the other hand, the modern world is deeply intertwined and connected by different geopolitical and economic deals and agreements. If a continent or a smaller geopolitical division refuses to make strategic deals, it usually suffers some type of retaliation from the others. Thus, even though this nation can produce its own food, its economy will somehow be negatively impacted. Besides that, global warming and natural disasters have become more frequent, unfortunately. As a consequence, crops, fertile lands, and even cattle can be lost and destroyed in a matter of seconds due to natural disasters. So, having strategic partnerships with other nations to import and export goods is a valid strategy to ensure their population can be fed and that their economy can thrive. To conclude, although it is primordial to invest in agriculture as much as possible in order to feed its population, a wise government also needs to cultivate strong partnerships and trade deals with its neighbours.