“Some people think that Government should take measures to improve the health of its citizens. Others think it must be managed by individuals. Discuss both views and give your opinion”

Nowadays, societies are gradually becoming more individualistic. Unfortunately, this applies not only to individuals but to governors who appropriate from this tendency when making decisions over the public health system. But, surprisely, a large proportion of the community agree with the idea that health assistance should not be given for free. In this essay I will point out my opinion about this issue. To start with the trend described above, many countries around the world are transfering health attention to the private sector, elevating the responsability and costs of taking care of their well-being to the particulars. Moreover, a substantial portion of states have deregulated the market of medical entreprises, leaving users under a critical state of vulnerability. This is the case for example of the United States, where medical assistance can be granted only after paying a costly montly fee. On the contrary, a considerable number of societies in Europe and some countries in South America like Argentina, hold a solid unpaid healthcare public system. What is more, not only residents but overseas citizens are covered under this mechanism when staying in those countries, even under the quality of tourists. Nontheless, this concept has rapidly changed, and, for instance, following the case of Argentina, the President in office Javier Milei, has recently announced that foreigners, in the near future, will be charged for medical assistance recieved in public institutions. To summarise, I strongly believe that health-care must be provided by states, due to the fact that it should be considered as a basic right, that every single person should be granted with. What is more, a neglect in providing medical care should be penalised by law. Nonetheless, some measures, like charging small fees to tourists or non-residents should be taken, in order to preserve the quality and availability of this essential public service.