In cities and towns all over the world the high volume of traffic is a problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

Nowadays, high rise in traffic is becoming a concerning issue globally. This essay will highlight reasons behind this problem and will suggest some solutions to deal with these causes with relevant examples. To commence with, there are several reasons which cause more traffic in society. First reason is overpopulation. In other words, individuals are migrating to cities and towns in search of opportunities, especially for jobs and better lifestyles. Besides this,private car culture can be a second problem. Moreover, commuting is mostly done by separate cars whether the distance is small or long causing unnecessary jams. Not only but also, poor infrastructure is another problem. Due to bad maintenance of roads, less highways as well as bypasses create traffic congestion. For example, in Ontario, Toronto is facing huge traffic on 401 highway because of less lanes as well as absence of bypass for long-haul vehicles. In order to tackle this issue, many solutions can be implemented such as focusing on building better infrastructure by making new roads, new highway lanes and flyovers. This would keep traffic in good shape. In addition, commuters should be encouraged to use car pooling methods. In simple terms, individuals travelling to the same locations should ask to share vehicles. Also, upgraded public transit with better bus routes, more subway stations and railway maps is needed. Encouraging people by providing better transportation can resolve this matter and could save time. For instance, in European countries, citizens prefer public transits over private cars because of high quality transportation as well as it takes less time than a car to reach the destination. In a nutshell, the poor infrastructure, private vehicle commute and overpopulation are the main reasons behind high percentage of traffic. However, to resolve this matter, good infrastructure and quality of public transport is required.