Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. Do you think the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern era, information technology is influencing our lives so much that it even controls our homes, free-time activities and working patterns. Although this phenomenon has some obvious drawbacks, it is not without its benefits. Admittedly, there are some bad sides of the advancement of information technologies. First and foremost, it leads to poor health. As people are more exposed to the technology, their both physical and mental health are at risk. Not computers at work only make individuals sedentary, but excessive use of technology also brings about social isolation and depression. This, as a result, undermines one's overall well-being. Another potential problem is a lack of jobs. Because programs are automated and artificial intelligence(AI) is developed through information technology, some people are likely to lose their jobs. For instance, cashiers may face joblessness in case self-checkout is introduced. It can, hence, be disadvantageous in such respects. As much as I acknowledge the points above, I tend to believe that information technology has more benefits to offer. One of which is an increased efficiency at work. As a result of the development of information technologies, staff are able to create, store and share data faster and easier. Furthermore, information technologies aid human beings gain more knowledge. In other words, people can access online courses and read e-books anytime and anywhere with the help of information technology. They, in effect, expand their knowledge. Therefore, information technology is beneficial in these regards. In conclusion, while information technology can have negative impacts on people, its merits overshadow its downsides in terms of productivity at work and acquiring more knowledge.