Some people believe that schools should focus more on practical subjects, such as information technology and business skills, while others argue that traditional subjects, like history and literature, are still important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The debate over academic curriculum is a perennial one.Few individuals opine that schools should prioritize more on practical subjects while others state that traditional subjects are still significant. This essay will elucidate both perspectives along with my own viewpoint. On the one hand,there are numerous reasons which are responsible to include topics like information and business skills in academics. Firstly,having such courses supports pupil's growth by inculcating practical experience in the business world.To illustrate, students will be trained in marketing and solving issues related to business. Secondly, it will also promote the development of life skills like interacting with team members,taking responsibility or ownership for particular tasks and meeting deadlines. Furthermore, they will be prepared for their future career path. On the other hand,traditional courses like history and literature are still significant because not every pupil wants to become an engineer or a marketing head.There are still some children who want to pursue a profession in other fields like some want to be a historian or a writer. However, in my opinion, education institutions should have both types of subjects in one semester as mandatory so that students will be able to explore and learn all subjects.Later on,from next semester it should be the choice of students to select a subject as per their interest and pursue a bright career. This will also help students as they don't need to study extra subjects and bear the burden of qualifying examinations which are not even relevant to their futuristic plans. For example, the Maharashtra State Board of Higher Education allows students to select the subjects per their interest from 11th standard onwards. Students who want to become an engineer can choose maths subjects only. In a nutshell,practical and traditional subjects are equally vital in academics. However, children should have the freedom of choice to select courses upon their needs and interests.